top of page

That Makes It All Worthwhile

I was at work today, and feeling a little stressed. I had to redo a piece of work because the project team had given me completely misleading information about the requirements, and I was fighting with the SQL to get it to spit out the results that I wanted. And of course there's the inevitable downside of taking a week off: you have a week's work to do before you've even started.

It wasn't that bad, and I could tell that it wasn't that bad because I hadn't gotten S&M by Rihanna stuck in my head, which always happens when I get really stressed (don't ask why, I don't even like Rihanna). But it could have been better, and I was feeling the pressure a little on this piece.

And then I got an email from a former colleague in a different team, a woman whom I used to work under when I first joined the company. She told me that she had finished my book on Sunday, and she really enjoyed it.

And from that moment nothing else mattered. It didn't matter that I had doubts about the letter template, it didn't matter that I could produce all the results I wanted, it didn't matter that the SQL was slow...none of it. I still did the work obviously (say I, in case my boss should happen across this) but it couldn't bother me because I was walking on air.

Remember: so long as one reader smiles, it's a victory.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page